The Center Ploegsteert 14-18 will open its doors in June 2013; its objective is to make the visitor become absorbed with the personal experience of so many soldiers and civilians. We shall find testimonies, maps, vestiges, photos and newspapers there.
Ploegsteert is the only part of the territory of Wallonnie occupied by all the belligerent strengths. The site includes 18 cemeteries among which 16 have Australian graves, 35 structures in concrete, 4 craters and dugouts were fitted out in 1917. Hill 63 Dugouts sheltered up to 1200 men during the battle of Messines; the galleries were built by the first company of Australian tunnellers. Not far from here is Hill 60 where, in April 1915, the British troops deployed three mines which blew up the summit of the hill.
Add a Comment